Athletes, coaches wrap up the year with spring sports banquet

Twenty scholar athletes are rewarded $500 on behalf of Stagg’s Booster Club.

Badminton Awards

Boys varsity

Most valuable player: So Her

Most improved player: Aaron Vang

Coach’s award: Pao Vang


Girls varsity

Co-most valuable player: Na Lor and Gabrielle Riego

Most improved: Marleene Pheav

Coach’s award: Nina Xiong and Allison Ho


JV girls

Most valuable player: Kayla Yoeum

Most improved player: Julia Rosete and Stephanie Matsumoto

Coach’s award: Jessica Eth


Baseball Awards


Defensive player of the year: Octavio Mora

Coach’s award: Johnathan Krietz, James Newman, Jeffrey Valverde



Most outstanding player: Roberto Torres

Coach’s award: Nathaniel Bones

Offensive player of the year: Michael Herrera

Defensive player of the year: Julian Raya


Golf Awards


Co-most valuable player: Mario Pimentel and Diego Luera

Most improved player: Gabriel Zuniga

Coach’s award: Alex Apcar and Jose Ruiz

Leadership award: Eric Andrade


Girls Soccer Awards


Most valuable player: Selena Magallanes

Defensive player: Claudia SantaCruz

Most improved player: Breana Hernandez

Offensive player of the year: Claudette Caceres



Defensive player of the year: Cynthia Leos

Offensive player of the year: Valeria Rodriguez

Most Improved player: Jessica Chavarin

Softball Awards


Most valuable player: Mia Macias

Offensive player of the year: Christina Martinez

Coach’s award: Corrina Rivera



Most valuable player: De’Lilah Vega

Most improved player: Abriala Uvalles

Coach’s award: Elysia Avila Reyes


Swimming Awards


Most Valuable swimmer: Aja Reyes and Mathew Raichel

Most improved swimmer: Amanda Munoz and Samuel Cornelison

Coach’s award: Breanna Joyner and Darryn Penry



Co-most valuable player: Erik Gomez and Vincente Arburua

Coach’s award: Andy Hoang


Track and Field Awards

Boys Varsity

Co-MVP: James Garcia and Michael Thompson

“Sci-Camp my truck”: Maurell Robinson

“2BUFF4MYUNI”: Hunter Sellers

“Finally Feeling Good”: David Morales

“Track over sci-camp”: Joseph Cunningham and Joey Cane

Captain award: Michael Albinto


Boys JV

“No Pain Allowed”: Ernesto Valencia

“I’m Not Scared”: Johnny Brown Lee

“Putting in Work”: Jalend Dinwiddie

Coach’s award: Jalani Flowers


Girls varsity

MVP “Boss Hog”: Jasmine Pharms

“The Deadly Newcomer”: Celeste Masuda

“It’s Vertical Challenge”: Janelluz Javier


Co-Spring Sports MVP 2014-2015: Mario Pimentel and Diego Luera

Co-Spring Sports Most Valuable Employee: Ray Jones and Linda Jones

Male Athlete of the Year: Mario Pimentel

Co-Female Athlete of the Year: Jasmine Pharms and Claudette Caceres

Male Scholar Athlete of the Year: Devin Wickstrom

Female Scholar Athlete of the Year: Zariah Gonzales

Athletic Department Staff Member of the Year (The Joe Gatz Award): James Marrone