Much to celebrate at the Fall Sports Banquet


Michealla Foules

Athletic Director Tony Espinoza congratulates tennis players senior Lyznie Vang and junior Claudette Caceras for beating St. Mary’s and placing second in TCAL for doubles.

Jessica Mangili

Athletes filled the gym late Monday night. Some where dressed up with accomplished smiles. While others were rushing in from practice. Everyone was there to celebrate the accomplishments of the Fall season; from football’s win over St. Mary’s and their advancement in playoffs to tennis placing 2nd in TCAL, there was much to celebrate. Here is a recap of the honors and awards from the night including the new monthly award for scholar athletes.

JV Soccer

MVP- Juan Raya

Coach’s Award – Ezequiel Ruiz

Most Inspirational – Eduardo Vazquez

Most Improved – Kareem Bravo

Defensive Player of the Year – Luis Zermeno

Varsity Soccer

Most Improved – Miguel Gaitan

Most Inspirational – Emilio Torres

Co-MVP – Jose Chavez & Joaquin Raya

Captain’s award – Jonathan Zavala

Volleyball Freshman

Most Inspirational – Berenese Falcon

Most Improved – Malerie Williams

MVP –  Sidney Stockman

JV Volleyball

Most Inspirational –  Brianna Alford

Most Improved –  Selena Rivas

MVP – Kindra Carter

Volleyball Varsity

Most Inspirational –  Shanice Brown

Most Improved – Destiny Delgado

Co- MVP –  Jasmine Pharms & Eryn Lightsey

Girls Tennis

Most Improved –  Guadalupe Barboza

MVP – Claudette Caceras

Coach’s Award – Diane Doan

Section Qualifiers – Lynzie Vang & Claudette Caceras

Girls Golf

MVP – Jasmine Williams

Most Improved – Blancah Mendoza & Martha Valencia

Coach’s Award – Stephanie Silva & Daisy Chaviria

JV Girls water polo  

MVP – Gabrielle Beutel

Most Improved – Raven Ramirez

Defensive Player of the Year – Diana Ferrufino

JV Boys water polo

MVP – Julian Hernandez

Most Improved – Ryan McLaughlin

Defensive Player of the Year – Derek Diep

JV Cross Country

Most Valuable runner – Sathina Flores

Varsity Cross Country

Most Valuable Runner – Rosa Martinez

Most Outstanding Runner – James Garcia

Most Inspirational Runner – Hunter Sellers

Team Captain Award – Paul Carranco

Fifth Man Award – David Morales

Most Improved Runner – Jaylen Shelton

JV Football

Delta King Award – Jonathan Phillips

Defensive MVP – Roger Morales

Lineman of the Year – Steven Rocha

Most Improved – Jose Renteria

Varsity Football

* Awards will be presented when the season comes to a close.